- What the product does (core value proposition in objective terms)
- Origin Lab is a data platform and marketplace that connects video game publishers (data rights holders) with AI research teams building world models, enabling the conversion of game environments into multimodal datasets suitable for model training.
- The vendor describes licensed datasets (as an alternative to scraped content) and capture and enrichment pipelines that add structured metadata (telemetry, environment state, camera motion, player inputs, and similar signals).
- Target market and market positioning
- Primary demand-side target
- AI labs and model builders working on world models, embodied AI, multimodal generation, and simulation/spatial reasoning.
- Primary supply-side target
- Video game studios and publishers with interactive assets and telemetry who want to monetize those assets for data licensing.
- Market category
- A licensed training-data marketplace and data supply-chain infrastructure for AI, with a specialization in datasets derived from game environments.
- Company background (founding year, HQ, key leadership)
- Founding / formation signals
- Public sources indicate the company announced a seed round in May 2026. Tech press names Anne-Margot Rodde as a co-CEO/co-founder and lists co-founders Antoine Gargot and Colin Carrier.
- HQ / location
- Company profiles list the business as based in California with a small headcount at the time of review.
- Leadership
- Co-CEO/co-founder: Anne-Margot Rodde (also described in some coverage with additional titles).
- Funding and growth: investment rounds, acquisitions, estimated customer count/revenue if public
- Seed funding
- The company announced a seed round in May 2026; press coverage reports participation from multiple investors and several angel backers.
- Growth/customer metrics
- Customer count, revenue, and dataset volume metrics are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- Pricing model with specific tiers and costs where available
- Public pricing
- No public self-serve pricing page or explicit dataset price list was found on the vendor's public materials.
- The product appears to be sold via partnership or enterprise-style deals (inferred from the marketplace and licensing model described in press), but terms are not disclosed.
- Total cost of ownership considerations (implementation, training, hidden costs)
- For AI labs (buyers)
- Likely cost centers (not publicly priced)
- Licensing fees and minimum commitments
- Data delivery, hosting, and egress costs (notably for large video, telemetry, and 3D assets)
- Internal ML and data engineering to ingest formats, validate schema, and integrate datasets into training pipelines
- QA and validation processes to ensure licensing provenance and avoid leakage/contamination
- For publishers (sellers)
- Likely cost centers
- Technical integration for capture pipelines (plugins, instrumentation)
- Legal review of licensing terms, revenue share, and exclusivity clauses
- Ongoing operational support for updates and DLC that may affect data consistency
- Key competitors in the space (list 4-6 direct alternatives)
- Troveo (licensed real-world data network)
- Defined.ai (training-data marketplace across modalities)
- Versos (video data marketplace with rights verification)
- ContentX Labs (licensed video datasets)
- Scale AI (data labeling and evaluation services; overlaps in data supply and labeling infrastructure)